Rest in Peace – Telegraphy

I saw this article today : LiveScience.com – Era Ends: Western Union Stops Sending Telegram
When I first saw the topic line, my first reaction was – Who would still be using this method of communication in this day and age? Here we are looking at the demise of regular telephony now, who would have thought the telegraph still existed out here :) It was the first technology to ever use wires to communicate (correct me if I am wrong) instantly and for a long time it was the only way to communicate. I have never sent a telegram in my life but there it is.
Western Union isn't going away however, it's doing very well with its money order business and the loss of the telegraph doesnt affect it much.

Update: Userfriendly picked up on this bit news too. They have a more humorous take on the matter :)

